VILLAGE OF RIVER FOREST DEER MANAGEMENT AD HOC COMMITTEE Wednesday, April 15, 2021

A regular meeting of the Village of River Forest Deer Management Ad Hoc Committee was held on Wednesday, April 15, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. in the Community Room of Village Hall, 400 Park Avenue – River Forest, IL.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 7:34 p.m. Upon roll call, the following persons were:

Present: Chairperson Tom Cargie, John Roeger, Joel Lueking, Julie Armstrong, Dawn

Mizgala, John Flynn, Dan Hollenbach, Cathleen Hughes, Ron Lemar

Absent: None

Also Present: Management Analyst Sara Phyfer

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Mr. Lemar made a motion, seconded by Ms. Armstrong, to approve the January 19, 2021 meeting minutes.

Roll call:

Ayes: Chairperson Tom Cargie, John Roeger, Joel Lueking, Julie Armstrong, Dawn

Mizgala, John Flynn, Dan Hollenbach, Cathleen Hughes, Ron Lemar

Absent: None Nays: None Motion Passes.

4. OLD BUSINESS

None.

5. NEW BUSINESS

c. Vote to Submit the Committee Report to the Village President & Board of Trustees

Mr. Lueking made a motion, seconded by Mr. Flynn to submit the Committee Report to the Village President and Board of Trustees.

Chairperson Cargie stated he tried to incorporate all the comments from Committee members' that were submitted to him and asked if there were any additional changes.

In response to a question from Mr. Hollenbach, Chairperson Cargie stated he believed it would be up to the IDNR as to which charity the meat would be donated to but that if the Village did, it would probably be a Village Board consideration.

Ms. Armstrong asked whether the comments from Chris Anchor of the Cook County Forest Preserves were on the record. She expressed concern that the Committee's report relies on his comments if they are not on the record, and she expressed further concern that the Forest Preserves was not officially coming to the Village.

The Committee discussed this at length. Mr. Lueking stated that he had shared an email from Mr. Anchor to Ms. Phyfer, who then shared it with the Committee. It was determined that the email was not included in the packet for the January 19 meeting, but that Mr. Lueking shared the comments during the open meeting. He also stated that Mr. Anchor had given him permission to share the comments with the Committee.

Chairperson Cargie stated the position of the Forest Preserves is consistent between Mr. Anchor's email and the letter from Superintendent Arnold Randall dated January 2020.

The Committee reached a consensus for Mr. Lueking to request Mr. Anchor's permission to include his comments in the report.

The Committee discussed other grammatical changes to fix in the report. Mr. Roeger asked that the discussion about Lyme disease in the report be changed to remove the word "heatedly" from the phrase "this issue was heatedly debated," and he stated he wanted to be on record that he approached the issue neutrally.

Mr. Flynn commented about an OpEd in the Wednesday Journal by an individual who works at the Trailside Museum, and an article from the Smithsonian. In response to a question about whether these should be included in the report, Chairperson Cargie read the OpEd aloud. The Committee reached a consensus not to include these items in the report.

Ms. Armstrong also expressed concern about the proximity of sharpshooting to residential areas, and Committee members asked to include this concern in the report. She also stated they should ask themselves why the Forest Preserves is not coming in.

The Committee reached a consensus to meet again on April 27 at 7:30 to give time for Mr. Lueking to seek Mr. Anchor's permission to include his comments in the report before submitting it to the Village Board.

6. ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Hollenbach made a motion, seconded by Ms. Mizgala, to adjourn the Deer Management Ad Hoc Committee meeting at 8:50p.m.

Roll call:

Deer Management Ad Hoc Committee Meeting April 15, 2021

Ayes: Chairperson Tom Cargie, John Roeger, Joel Lueking, Julie Armstrong, Dawn

Mizgala, John Flynn, Dan Hollenbach, Cathleen Hughes, Ron Lemar

Absent: None Nays: None

Motion Passes.

Sara Phyfer, Secretary