# VILLAGE OF RIVER FOREST DEER MANAGEMENT AD HOC COMMITTEE Tuesday, August 25, 2020

A regular meeting of the Village of River Forest Deer Management Ad Hoc Committee was held on Tuesday, August 25, 2020 at 7:30 p.m. in the Community Room of Village Hall, 400 Park Avenue – River Forest, IL.

## 1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 7:35 p.m. Upon roll call, the following persons were:

Present: Chairperson Tom Cargie, Laurie Gillard, John Roeger, Cathleen Hughes, Joel

Lueking, Julie Armstrong, Dawn Mizgala, Marta Kozbur, Ingrid Liu, John Flynn

(joined the meeting at 7:44), Annette Madden

Absent: Katharine Christmas, Dan Hollenbach, Ron Lemar

Also Present: Management Analyst Sara Phyfer

#### 2. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Ms. Armstrong made a motion, seconded by Ms. Gillard, to approve the June 23, 2020 meeting minutes.

Roll call:

Ayes: Chairperson Tom Cargie, Laurie Gillard, John Roeger, Cathleen Hughes, Joel

Lueking, Julie Armstrong, Dawn Mizgala, Marta Kozbur, Ingrid Liu, John Flynn,

Annette Madden

Absent: Katharine Christmas, Dan Hollenbach, Ron Lemar

Nays: None

Motion Passes.

### 4. REPORTS FROM SUBCOMMITTEES

None.

#### **5. OLD BUSINESS**

a. Update Regarding Report Deadline

Chairperson Cargie and Management Analyst Phyfer updated the Committee that the Village Board of Trustees would be considering the extension of the Committee's report deadline at their September meeting.

#### 6. NEW BUSINESS

## a. Status on Questionnaire

Management Analyst Phyfer stated there are 1, 384 online responses and 18 paper responses.

## b. Discussion of Questionnaire Analysis

The Committee discussed and reached a consensus to divide the comments up to more efficiently analyze the open-ended responses.

# c. Discussion of Preparation of Report

The Committee discussed how to prepare their report, and there was discussion about having one person from each subcommittee work on the report.

In response to a question from Ms. Gillard, Chairperson Cargie stated there is no template or required format for the report. In response to a question from Ms. Liu, he noted their charge is to report the findings and make a recommendation to the Village Board. He also stated the questionnaire lets the Committee know what the residents think about the issue. Regarding the comments, Chairperson Cargie stated he envisioned categories to help organize them.

There was more discussion about ensuring the comments are reviewed, presented objectively and organized in a meaningful way. Chairperson Cargie noted the comments provide context to the data.

Mr. Roeger summarized the discussion and stated the three subcommittees would organize the comments, then the Committee as a whole would discuss the data and determine what the report should be, then the three individuals from each subcommittee would prepare the report.

The Committee reached a consensus to leave it up to those reviewing the comments to set up categories for the comments.

Chairperson Cargie stated he and Ms. Phyfer would work together to divide up the comments evenly among the three subcommittees.

There was also discussion that each subcommittee would nominate an individual to work on the Committee report.

Ms. Phyfer stated Staff would post a reminder about the questionnaire deadline on social media.

## d. Discussion of Deer Management Information for Village Website

Chairperson Cargie stated his thought it to have a Deer Committee page on the Village website, which would include information gathered by the multidisciplinary and communications subcommittees.

After more discussion, there was a consensus to remove responses from non-residents from the final results.

#### 7. NEXT MEETING

The Committee members came to a consensus to hold the next meeting on September 29 at 7:30 p.m.

# 8. ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Flynn made a motion, seconded by Ms. Gillard, to adjourn the Deer Management Ad Hoc Committee meeting at 8:20 p.m.

Roll call:

Ayes: Chairperson Tom Cargie, Laurie Gillard, John Roeger, Cathleen Hughes, Joel

Lueking, Julie Armstrong, Dawn Mizgala, Marta Kozbur, Ingrid Liu, John Flynn,

Annette Madden

Absent: Katharine Christmas, Dan Hollenbach, Ron Lemar

Nays: None Motion Passes.

Sara Phyfer, Secretary