VILLAGE OF RIVER FOREST AGE-FRIENDLY AD HOC COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 11, 2020

A regular meeting of the Village of River Forest Age Friendly Ad Hoc Committee was held on Wednesday, November 11, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room of Village Hall, 400 Park Avenue – River Forest, IL.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. Upon roll call, the following persons were:

Present: Chairperson Respicio Vazquez, Chris Hauri, Daniel Lauber, Deborah Frederick,

James Flanagan, Lydia Manning, Ron Sherman

Absent: None

Also Present: Management Analyst Sara Phyfer

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

3. APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES

Ms. Manning made a motion, seconded by Mr. Lauber to approve the October 14, 2020 meeting minutes.

Roll call:

Ayes: Chairperson Respicio Vazquez, Chris Hauri, Ron Sherman, Daniel Lauber,

Deborah Frederick, James Flanagan, Lydia Manning

Absent: None Nays: None Motion Passes.

4. COMMITTEE MEMBER UPDATES: DEMENTIA FRIENDLY RIVER FOREST AND AGE FRIENDLY COMMUNITIES COLLABORATIVE

Ms. Manning reported that DFRF is still working on the website and is hoping to have it launched by the end of the year. She noted Officer Ransom presented on dementia friendly programs at Coffee Monday.

Chairperson Vazquez reported that the AFCC did not meet.

5. OLD BUSINESS

a. Update on Status of Data Analysis

Ms. Manning introduced Lauren Bouchard and summarized their findings. She stated what the surveys yield is a gauge for a temperature of where the community is in terms of what is going on and noted the key areas to focus on.

The Committee discussed food insecurity and noted nutrition for seniors is important to include.

Mr. Flanagan the Committee needs to find areas to reduce overlapping services with other organizations and where to focus instead.

Ms. Hauri noted the Arbor West asset map did a good job of clarifying what different organizations provide.

The Committee discussed the key areas of need from the data synthesis: affordable housing, transportation, and assistance regarding medical concerns in terms of case management and navigating the healthcare system, as well as the idea of an "age hub."

In response to a question from Chairperson Vazquez, Ms. Manning noted the community is program rich but there are opportunities for engagement with seniors and intergenerational programs.

Ms. Manning highlighted the Age-Friendly Oxford plan and offered to reach out to get more information and to contact the Scripps Gerontology Center to help find the right partners.

In response to a question from Chairperson Vazquez, Ms. Manning stated the Committee can put its survey together looking at the report and script used by Oxford and stated there could be an opportunity to outsource the mailing, collecting, data analysis and writing of the report. She stated they can put together a budget.

The Committee discussed actionable areas to focus on including affordable housing, transportation, and social connectedness/opportunities for social engagement. There was emphasis to focus on areas that the government can actually do something about. The Committee also discussed using the Oxford survey as a template, if possible, and highlighted the gap analysis.

Chairperson Vazquez summarized that the Committee members would review the Oxford plan and survey to look for modifications. He stated Ms. Manning would try to get a Word version of the survey and to obtain a cost or quote for some of the legwork.

Ms. Manning stated she would outline tasks in an Excel spreadsheet.

6. NEW BUSINESS

a. Other Business

Chairperson Vazquez noted that Ms. Hauri volunteered to attend the NASFC webinar. He noted that Pam from the Oak Park Township is working on a handyman program and will present at the Committee's next meeting.

7. NEXT MEETING: DECEMBER 9 OR TBD

The Committee reached a consensus to hold its next meeting on Tuesday, December 8 at 7PM.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Lauber made a motion, seconded by Mr. Sherman to adjourn the meeting at 7:53pm.

Roll call:

Ayes: Chairperson Respicio Vazquez, Chris Hauri, Daniel Lauber, Deborah Frederick,

James Flanagan, Lydia Manning, Ron Sherman

Absent: Deborah Frederick

Nays: None

Motion Passes.

Sara Phyfer, Secretary