The 2020 Census is live now! Learn more »

Results of Simultaneous Filing Lottery

December, 28, 2018

A lottery for simultaneous filing was held at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, December 26, 2018 in the 1st Floor Community Room of the Village Hall, 400 Park Avenue, River Forest, Illinois, to determine the initial place on the ballot for the office of Village Trustee – 4 year term. 

All Candidates who filed simultaneously for the office of Village Trustee were listed alphabetically on the notice as follows:                        

  1. Erika Bachner
  2. Kathleen “Katie” Brennan
  3. Michael W. Gibbs
  4. John Grant
  5. Robert O’Connell

The procedure authorized by the State Elections Board provides that the names of all candidates who filed simultaneously for the initial place on the ballot for the same office shall be listed alphabetically and shall be numbered consecutively commencing with the number one assigned to the candidate whose name is listed first on the alphabetical list. All ties will be broken by a single drawing. A number shall be placed in the container representing each number assigned to each candidate pursuant to the alphabetical listing. In this manner, sufficient numbers will be placed in the container to conduct the drawing for all offices at the same time. The candidate in the position on an alphabetical list corresponding to the first number drawn shall be certified ahead of the other candidates in the alphabetical list. The second number drawn will be certified second and so forth until all numbers have been drawn. For offices with fewer names on the alphabetical list than are in the drawing, all numbers in excess of the number of candidates that appear on the particular alphabetical list shall be disregarded.

The drawing for the initial place on the ballot for the office of Village Trustee was conducted and the numbers were drawn in the following order: 3, 2, 1, 5, 4 - thereby resulting in the ballot order as indicated below.

  1. Michael W. Gibbs
  2. Kathleen “Katie” Brennan
  3. Erika Bachner
  4. Robert O’Connell
  5. John Grant                                                    

The drawing was conducted by Jonathan Pape, Assistant to the Village Administrator and witnessed by Eric Palm, Village Administrator.