Police Department

The Police Department is staffed with 28 sworn Police Officers including the Chief, one Deputy Chief, a Commander, five Sergeants and twenty-two Police Officers.

The Police Department also employs a Community Service Officer and Records Clerk to handle non-patrol service functions and administrative functions.

The Department is a member of the Northern Illinois Police Alarm System, the Illinois Law Enforcement Alarm System, the West Suburban Directed Gang Enforcement Task Force, and the West Suburban Major Crimes Task Force through intergovernmental agreements with local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies.

Police services include uniformed patrol operations, investigations, youth services, senior services, traffic accident investigation and enforcement, bicycle patrol and supplementary services which include disaster preparedness and response, vacation watch program, participation with community action groups, crime prevention, home security assessments, drug abuse intervention, traffic pattern analysis and recommendations, elementary school anti-drug abuse "Too Good For Drugs" program, and Village licensing investigation and enforcement.

Click here to view the Ten Shared Principles Between the NAACP and Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police. 

Police Department contact info

  • 911 (emergency),
    708-366-7125 (non-emergency)
  • 400 Park Avenue
    River Forest, IL 60305
    Get directions