Traffic and Safety Commission

Scroll down for information on past and future meetings (agendas, minutes, audio, etc.)

The function of the Traffic and Safety Commission is to review transit, parking and potentially hazardous traffic matters of the Village that have been referred to them.

The Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the Village Board of Trustees and is comprised of seven members, who are residents of the Village, and are appointed by the Village President with consent from the Board of Trustees.

The Commission meets on the third Wednesday of alternate months at 7:30 pm in the Community Room of Village Hall. Meets on the 3rd Wednesday of alternating months.

Traffic and Safety Commission Members

Member Term Expires
R. Douglas Rees, Chair 4/30/26 (Chair), 4/30/26 (Member)
Kimberly Hoyt 4/30/25
John Osga 4/30/25
Frederick (Rick) Gillis 4/30/25
Arun Jayaraman 4/30/26
David Karrow 4/30/26
Patricia Chase 4/30/26

Requests to the Commission

Requests must be submitted in writing (email is acceptable) to Bill Koclanis. The request will be reviewed by Village staff, studied by the Village's Traffic Engineering Consultant (if necessary) and forwarded to the Commission for discussion.

See detailed instructions on the procedure to petition, and the petition signature form, to the Traffic and Safety Commission. Additional information and clarification can be found on the associated Traffic and Safety Exhibit. Please note that the Village-provided petition form will need to be used for all requests. 

Residents and businesses in the area will be notified of the request and given the opportunity to attend the meeting. Recommendations by the Commission are forwarded to the Village Board for final approval.

Upcoming meetings

  1. Nov 15 Wed

    Traffic and Safety Commission Meeting

    07::30PM, Community Room - 1st Floor - Village Hall - 400 Park Avenue - River Forest – IL

All Traffic and Safety Commission upcoming meetings »